17 blocks from barneys


Dammit!
October 9, 2008, 8:11 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Just when you think you’re in fashion’s front row, you realize you weren’t even invited to the show. I used to consider myself knowledgeable when it came to fashion and it’s key players. I just found out, I’m still in its kindergarten equivalent.

Meet Bonnie Cashin. Apparently, she’s one of the most acclaimed and commercially successful American fashion designers of our time and a woman for whom ‘chicness’ was innate. I never heard of her in my life.

But, like any good student, I’m doing the research, taking notes, and studying as much as I can to catch up to my peers. She died in 2000, drew wonderful sketches (you can buy postcards of them here), and was all around a wonderful woman.

Bad student! I’m banishing myself to the corner.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

